Pursuit of happiness

Being a teenager is hard but the added pressure of deciding on a future path seems to cause a lot of stress. I have had the ‘what do you plan on doing after high school?’ conversation with my parents.

But the pressure I feel about having to decide on my future immediately is daunting.  I am a big supporter of teenagers taking a year off before starting university. Teenagers need time to settle into the ‘real world’ but the break also gives them time to decide what they really want to do with their lives.

Pressures are heavy and sometimes come from all sides

And what’s the rush? Yes, a career needs to be chosen eventually, but why at 17, when kids are yet to experience life as a self-supporting adult and see what is out there? Some teenagers know exactly what they want and that is great. I believe the teenagers who need a little more time should be encouraged to do so instead of being pushed to make a choice by society.

I’m one of those teenagers who’d like to go to university. I’d finish a three year degree in Aviation and do the thing I love the most; flying.

Flying at sunset

It’s not about finding a high paying job—although I would recommend it if you know you would love the job—but finding a job that you will enjoy as your career. I view a job as a pilot the best job in the world, having the cockpit of an aircraft as your office and the sky as your limit. You have to admit though, it’s an awesome jobs if you where surrounded by this scenery (picture on the right).

The bottom line is, some teenagers know exactly what they want while others are not sure just yet. But they are only young and have plenty of time to find their true passion. Pressures are heavy and sometimes come from all sides, so why does society seen to be more concerned with choosing a career now than choosing a career you love, even if it does take a little longer?

finding a job that you will enjoy as your career

About Top Gun

I was fiercely attacked and was being defeated, but the Lord helped me. Psalms 118:13 Reach for the stars, not for anything less.

Leave a Reply

